Book a Consultation

Home » Australian Visas » The first step towards your Australian future » General Skilled Migration Visas Overview

General Skilled Migration Visas Overview

GSM Subclasses | Points Test | General Criteria | Skilled Occupation List | 189, 190 & 491 | Migration to Australia | EOI Validity |

Application Process | State Nominations

The basis of the General Skilled Migration Program is to allow individuals with in-demand skills in certain occupations, with their families, to permanently migrate to Australia, without needing to be sponsored by an employer.  The General Skilled Migration Program is points tested and are either independent, state/territory sponsored or family sponsored permanent visas.

The Skilled Occupation List determines which occupations are eligible to apply for permanent residency through the General Skilled Migration program.

Applicants will need to meet minimum criteria to be allowed to apply as well as have an occupation that is in demand in Australia.

All states have announced a more positive skilled migration program which brings hope to many skilled migrants who are seeking Australian permanent residency.

General Skilled Migration Visa Subclasses

There are several GSM subclasses.  Some of these subclass lead to the grant of permanent residency, whilst others are temporary or provisional in nature

Migration Downunder are here to guide you through the maze with your Expression of Interest, Skills Assessment application and working through your eligibility for your points test applications.

What is the Points Test?

What is the General Criteria for the GSM visa?

The current pass mark to lodge an Expression of Interest (EOI) is 65 points however the more points you have, the stronger your application will be and the more likely it is for you to receive an invitation. Some occupations require a much higher pass mark and not all occupations are invited on each round. Please review ‘Latest invitation round GSM‘.

What are the Minimum Points Required?

65 points are required to lodge an Expression of Interest (EOI).

What is the Skilled Occupation List?

The National Skills Commission is responsible for providing advice to Government on the skilled migration occupation lists to ensure they are responsive to skilled workforce needs across Australia.  These lists underpin a range of points-tested and state-nominated visa programs.

To view the current lists please visit the Department of Home Affairs

What are the Differences between 189, 190 & 491 visas?

The Subclass 189 visa is an independent skilled visa that doesn’t require any form of sponsorship.  It is a permanent visa.

The Subclass 190 visa is state-nominated visa and applicants are invited to apply by a state or region. Just like the 189 visa, it is a permanent visa

The Subclass 491 is a provisional visa that leads to permanent residency on the basis that you are residing in a designated regional area of Australia for a minimum three years.  It is a state or territory nominated visa.  Regional areas include the entire country except Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne.

How long does an EOI remain valid?

An EOI Submission is valid for two years.  You are required to update the details contained with the EOI to reflect any relevant changes to your circumstances.

The submission of an EOI is not a visa application and does not entitle the applicant to be granted a bridging visa

I want to migrate to Australia

You must be qualified and have employment experience in a skilled profession or trade that is currently on the skilled occupation list.  You must be able to reach a minimum of 65 points to enable you to lodge an Expression of Interest (EOI) before getting invited.

What happens if my skills assessment has expired at time of 189 or 190 invitation?

Unfortunately, you won’t be able to accept the invitation as your skills assessment must be valid at time of invitation and not time of application for the visa application.

Providing False or Misleading Information in an EOI

While policy on Public Interest Criteria (PIC 4020) does not explicitly state that it covers information provided by an EOI, the Department takes the view that a visa application may be refused after an invitation has been issued if it relies on misleading or false information that has been provided in the EOI.

It is strongly recommended that applicants only provide information in their EOI that can be verified at time of invitation to apply for a visa.

What is the Application Process for General Skilled Migration Visas?

  1. Check Eligibility
  2. Obtain a positive skills assessment in your nominated occupation
  3. Submit an Expression of Interest (EOI) through Skills Select
  4. If applicable apply for state/territory nomination
  5. Submit visa application within 60 days of receiving an invitation

State Nominations

For more information about State Nominations:

How Can Migration Downunder Help?

We are highly experienced across all areas of the General Skilled Migration program and we are able to advise and assist you on all aspects of the application including your skills assessment, nominating the appropriate occupation and advising on how to demonstrate your relevant work experience.

If you’d like to know more, you can book a consultation so that we can provide you with a written eligibility assessment before proceeding with an application.

189 Visa Success Story

Adrian Coetzee

189 Visa

Originally from South Africa, he and his family moved to Auckland, New Zealand and then to Perth, Australia.

“Honestly, you need the lovely people from Migration Downunder to help you navigate through, what would otherwise could have been a very challenging time. Having the Migration Downunder team in your corner is extremely valuable and worthwhile asset to have.”

Would you like to know more about your prospects for a visa?

Eligibility is the most important step in determining whether a person may meet the legal criteria for a visa application and one consultation could save you money.

Book a Consultation